Recent Publications, Awards, and Graduate School

It has been quite an eventful year! Since my last update, I have been accepted into an MFA program, published a few flash pieces (my current fiction fancy), and been honored with scholarships for the coming academic year.

Next month, I will begin my education at the University of Missouri, Kansas City, where I will pursue an MFA in Creative Writing with an emphasis in fiction. To help with the cost of this program, I was recently awarded both the Barbara Storck Award in Fiction and the Gary William Barger Memorial Scholarship. I am profoundly grateful to the university and my various mentors, friends, and colleagues who have helped me get to this place in my career.

Along with admittance into UMKC’s program, I have also been blessed with recent publications, which can be found on my “Writings” page. I would like to particularly highlight The New Engagement , which is a fairly young online journal and biannual print magazine that focuses on LGBTQIA work, as well as writers of color. They were kind enough to publish my short story, “Sundew” in May.

Favorite Recent Readings:

“The Huntress” by Sofia Samatar, Tin House: The Open Bar

“The Possible Causes of Your Suffering” by Mercedes Lucero, Paper Darts

“A Five-Point Failed Paper Love Weapon” by Beth Gilstrap, Cheap Pop

“Blood Knot” by Helen Elaine Lee, Ploughshares

Leave a Reply

